ST JAMES'S GRAVEYARD
Catholics and Protestants, bishops, earls, scholars, brewers, distillers and the ordinary people of Dublin all lie together in St James’s graveyard, a testimony to its long and varied history.
St James’s graveyard is about 1.5 acres in size and is the largest of the old Dublin City cemeteries. It is sited on the brow of the steep valley that lines the lower reaches of the Liffey. Over time, layers of burials have resulted in a complex landscape of archaeological significance. It holds a unique history with an estimated 60,000 - 100,000 burials on site.
With links to pre-Christian burial sites of 8th and 9th century Vikings, St James’s graveyard also remained the principal burial ground for both religious affiliations down through the centuries, those interred include the clergy of both catholic and protestant churches. The church was deconsecrated in 1963 with the last noted burial taking place in 1955.